Return to site

Transforming your Chakras Series

Post 1: What are the Chakras?

· Essential Oils

Some of you may be reading this thinking "why would I need to know what the chakras are?" For most of my life, I didn't know what these were, let alone understand the significant role they play. Most people by now have likely heard of chakras, but I find many aren't clear what purpose they have, or how they serve function in our lives.

The word ‘chakra’ comes from the sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’. The 7 chakras we'll be chatting about in this series are our wheels of energy that run up and down our spine. These energy centers are directly linked to mental, physical, and spiritual well-being. When a certain chakra is out of balance, either overactive or underactive/blocked, we are more prone to physical and psychological ailments. This is why it's important to understand what each chakra is connected to and what we can do to keep our energy flowing freely, in order to feel and be our best.

We'll start from our foundation:

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

color: red

represents: being grounded and feeling secure

location: at the base of the spine near the tailbone

element: earth

The root chakra is all about basic survival needs, security, and stability (e.g., food, shelter or money)
When this chakra is out of balance, you may feel anxious and threatened, and have physical symptoms such as lower back pain.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana)

color: orange

represents: our connection to others, our ability to accept and embrace new experiences

location: the lower abdomen, slightly below the navel

element: water

The sacral chakra is about authenticity, creativity, pleasure, and emotions

When this chakra is out of balance, you may feel uninspired, bored, resistant to change, have addictions, and may physically have issues with the reproductive and urinary systems. 

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

color: yellow

represents: our ability to show up, be confident, and in control of our lives

location: in the upper abdomen in the stomach area

element: fire

The solar plexus chakra is about power, self-worth, and self-confidence

When this chakra is out of balance, you may have a lack of self trust, low self-esteem, feel overly aggressive or competitive, be rigid and narrow-minded, and physically struggle with digestive issues.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

color: green

represents: our ability to love

location: at the center of our chest in our heart region

element: air

The heart chakra is all about.. you guessed it: love! as well as joy and inner peace

When this chakra is out of balance, you may have trust issues around the fear of being hurt, feelings of loneliness, fear of relationships, feelings of being possessive and jealous, or you may be overly empathetic and self sacrificing. This imbalance can lead to physical symptoms such as disorders of the heart, such as high blood pressure, as well as circulation issues and lowered immune system function

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

color: blue

represents: our ability to communicate, listen, express ourselves and our truth

location: at our throat

element: ether/sound

The throat chakra is about communication: speaking the truth, expressing yourself, and listening

When this chakra is out of balance, you may have suppressed feelings, a fear of expressing yourself, or may talk excessively, gossip, and have trouble listening without the tendency to interrupt. A blocked throat chakra primarily manifests in an inability to say what you want to say. Some physical symptoms that can come from this imbalance are disorders of the throat, ears, voice, or neck

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

color: indigo

represents: our ability to see the big picture, the ability to make decisions, intuition, and imagination

location: between our eyebrows, in the middle of the forehead

element: extra-sensory perception, light

The third eye chakra is about intuition, self-expression, imagination, wisdom

When this chakra is out of balance, you may have trouble setting goals for yourself, have a stifled imagination, poor memory and concentration, or difficulty in seeing the future and having faith in your broader purpose. From the physical perspective, this can cause headaches, migraines, neurological disorders, and struggles with mental health

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

color: violet

represents: our ability to be connected spiritually

location: the very top of the head

element: thought

The crown chakra is about our connection to spirituality and our higher self: our life & our purpose

When this chakra is out of balance, you can feel isolated, disconnected, struggle with trusting the universe, or lack belief in a higher power, and may physically deal with issues such as dementia, autoimmune disorders, or migraines.

For a reference you may be more familiar with, I started off thinking of these in my mind similarly to Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs. When we start viewing ourselves as the energetic beings we are, having this physical experience, big shifts start happening in what we see as true health and healing.

Stay tuned for an in-depth glimpse into each of these chakras, and how to balance them

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!